tick, tick…BOOM! Red Carpet Premieres 2021

tick, tick…BOOM!

Opening Night / World Premiere 

There will be a post-screening conversation with Lin-Manuel Miranda (Director), Andrew Garfield (Actor), Robin De Jesus (Actor), Alexandra Shipp (Actor) and Steven Levenson (Screenwriter) moderated by filmmaker Rian Johnson.

Pulitzer Prize and Tony Award® winner Lin-Manuel Miranda makes his feature directorial debut with tick, tick…BOOM!, an adaptation of the autobiographical musical by Jonathan Larson, who revolutionized theater as the creator of “Rent.”

Jon is a young theater composer who’s waiting tables at a New York City diner in 1990 while writing what he hopes will be the next great American musical. Days before he’s due to showcase his work in a make-or-break performance, Jon is feeling the pressure from everywhere: from his girlfriend Susan, who dreams of an artistic life beyond New York City; from his friend Michael, who has moved on from his dream to a life of financial security; amidst an artistic community ravaged by the AIDS epidemic. With the clock ticking, Jon is at a crossroads and faces the question everyone must reckon with: What are we meant to do with the time we have?

A Pulitzer Prize®, Grammy®, Emmy® and Tony® Award-winning songwriter, actor, director and producer, Lin-Manuel Miranda is the creator and original star of Broadway’s “Hamilton” and “In The Heights,” and the recipient of the 2015 MacArthur Foundation Award and 2018 Kennedy Center Honors. Miranda’s upcoming 2021 films include Disney’s ENCANTO and his feature film directorial debut tick, tick… BOOM!


Country: USA

Year: 2021

Director: Lin-Manuel Miranda

Screenwriter: Steven Levenson

Producers: Brian Grazer, Ron Howard and Julie Oh, p.g.a., Lin-Manuel Miranda

Executive Producers: Julie Larson, Steven Levenson, Celia Costas

Directors of Photography: Alice Brooks, ASC

Editors: Myron Kerstein, ACE, Andrew Weisblum

Production Designer: Alex Digerlando

Music: Jonathan Larson (Based on Music By and Songs and Score By)

Cast/Featuring: Andrew Garfield, Alexandra Shipp, Vanessa Hudgens, Joshua Henry, Bradley Whitford, Tariq Trotter, Judith Light, Robin De Jesús

Running Time (minutes): 112

Language: English